What’s bubbly, delicious, & good for your gut?

Kombucha!!

Do you LOVE Kombucha like I do?? Kombucha has got to be my favorite thing to drink. I gave up soda over 6 years ago so the first time I tried Kombucha was the first time I had anything bubbly to drink since then! The very first time I tried Kombucha it was because of a lovely lady named Dashama. I highly recommend checking her out! She’s amazing, she has some great videos on Youtube like this one. Anyway, my favorite is GT’s Strawberry Serenity. You know what, though? I am a stay at home mom of 2 and I can’t afford $3.69 – $4.69/ bottle! So I did a little research. First I found out that there are countless sources for buying your own scoby (mushroom that ferments the tea by eating up the sugar). Then I found out that you could just take a bottle of raw kombucha, leave it on the counter for a week (I suggest pouring it into a container with a larger mouth so you can get the scoby out!) And Voila! You now have your very own scoby! Yayy!

You will need: Scoby

Tea (I like to use Green Tea)

Any type of sugar (I use organic sucanat and I will try honey soon!)

& Container to put it in!

First thing’s first…

Boilwater

Boil your water!

Boiltea

Steep tea for 3-5 minutes. Add 1 cup of organic sugar to the tea.

Bkombucha

Once cooled, add tea to Ball jars. (Or any container you have on hand) and add scoby.

Now find a room temp, dark place to allow your scoby to ferment your green tea. (I put mine on a shelf in my closet) It will take between 4-9 days depending on your scoby.

Once the tea becomes Kombucha….

bkombucha1

Notice the bubbly bubbly?

I add some freshly pureed strawberries…

bkombucha2

bkombucha3

After that, I gently stir the mixture, put a lid on it and keep it in the fridge for about another week. The added sugar from the strawberries will kickstart to scoby’s fermentation and it will get super bubbly. So be careful, sip slowly, and do not shake it! : )

Enjoy!!

Have you tried Kombucha? Are you ready to try to brew your very own batch? Try it out!

Stay happy & healthy,

Angie

6 thoughts on “What’s bubbly, delicious, & good for your gut?

Leave a Reply

