How To Get Things Done

“Your mind is for having ideas, not holding them.” David Allen

How mind blowing is that statement right there? Really take a moment, take a deep inhale, then exhale. Now, is your mind clear? Or are you still thinking about all the things you think of every moment of everyday? “I have to…, I can’t forget to…, Oh man, what was that thing I was supposed to be thinking about? Why can’t I remember.. What is it..” Sounds familiar?

As some of you may know, I have been spending the past year working on building a business. Building a business takes a lot of thinking! And remembering! I can say that I’ve never considered that I’ve always used my brain as a storage device before this year, but I have. Are you?

brain1

Image Source

I remember a time when I fell behind about a week in school. I was so worried and nervous about being behind by a week, that I spent almost another week worrying about how I was going to get caught up! Do you know what I mean? I basically wasted hours “worrying” but not taking action. I became so trapped in my thoughts of “I can’t do it now..” but I could have!

I could have sat down with a notepad and a pen and written out all of the things that I was worried about completing. If you write out all of your responsibilities for the week, you don’t have to think about them anymore! Then, after writing out your responsibilities, you cant jot down the steps you need to take to complete those tasks. Then, the amount of time it will take you. Not only will you have a better understanding about what you have to do, but what you have TIME to do. If you add up all of your responsibilities and the time limit you have to do them in, you’re able to move tasks around to where they fit in best for you. That saves space for you to think about things that are happening in the present. When you think about what is happening in the present, you are able to fully engage and obtain the best results. What do you think about your amount of productivity day in and day out? Do you think you could work to improve your skills in time management to optimize your productivity? This is definitely something I would like to master.

looking-universe-22843320

Image Source

 For as long as I can remember I’ve been storing things in my brain. That’s what my brain is for, right? …Maybe not. After that moment when I realized that I had been using my brain as a storage device, I decided to type “How to get things done” into my Google search bar. What I came across was priceless. I found the artist of stress free productivity, David Allen.

If you have been struggling with time management and getting things done, please watch this wonderful video. It will change your life! ❤

You may want to watch it 2… or ten times. 🙂

 

So how do you feel now? Are you going to make some changes in the way you store your information? Let go of things that really don’t serve you? I hope this helps you the way it has helped me!

 

Love, Light, and peace of mind,

🙂 Angie

2 thoughts on “How To Get Things Done

Leave a Reply

