Purely Essential: Top 7 Uses For Essential Oil of Peppermint

Pure Essential Oils

The first time I ever tried pure essential oils was when I received a free sample from a friend who is a Wellness Advocate with doTERRA International. I remember my 2 year old had the hiccups. Not just gentle hiccups, but those violent almost painful hiccups. I remembered reading that peppermint oil could cure the hiccups in seconds and of course, I thought back to all those “cures” from when I was a kid myself trying to get rid of pesky hiccups. I figured, “what do we have to lose?”

2 drops of peppermint oil on the back of his neck and 1 second later, the hiccups were gone, vanished!

DoterraPeppermintBeadlettesNutritionalequilibrium

I couldn’t believe that my mom didn’t know this. I couldn’t believe the whole world didn’t know this!

Then I got a headache. I happened to be talking with my Wellness Advocate friend, and she said “3 drops of peppermint oil on the back of your neck!” 🙂 I thought, “waahht?”

3 drops of peppermint oil on the back of my neck, and 10 minutes later, my headache was completely gone! How much would you pay for something that you do not have to ingest, and it takes away headaches (and hiccups!) in minutes? Oh, and it’s completely natural, not poisonous to your liver. Contains no pesticides, synthetic chemicals or additives. 100% pure essential plant oil.

🙂

If you don’t believe me, please, request a FREE sample. ( HealthCoachAB@gmail.com) I would be happy to send you one! You can put it in your medicine cabinet, and when the time comes, it will be there for you. Just make sure you come back and tell me how amazed you are! That’s my favorite part of sharing! 🙂

So obviously those are my personal top #1 & 2, Here’s 3-7….

3.) Sore Muscles: Because peppermint oil has analgesic, anti-inflammatory and anti-spasmodic properties, it not only can relieve pain and inflammation but can also calm the spasms that cause muscle cramps.

  • Dilute with fractionated coconut oil and rub entire area which is sore.

4.) Stress Relief: Like many other essential oils, peppermint is able to provide relief from stress, depression, anxiety, and mental exhaustion due to its refreshing nature.

  • For stress relief, combine peppermint & lavender essential oils to help relieve tension while absorbed through your body’s largest organ: your skin.
  • Aromatherapy is amazingly effect as well. If you are new to diffusing or have yet to try, I highly recommend it! You can find diffusers for as little as $15.00.

5.) Energy/Alertness: Peppermint oil powerfully affects and improves mental clarity and raises energy levels. If you’re trying to cut back on caffeine, this may be a blessing to your mid-afternoon lull.

  • Rub a drop of oil under the nose to help improve concentration and alertness.
  • Diffuse Peppermint oil in the room to improve concentration and accuracy.
  • Apply to the back of the neck and shoulders repeatedly to keep energy levels up during the day.
  • Inhale before and during a workout to help boost your mood and reduce fatigue.

6.) Colds/Congestion: Menthol provides effective relief from many respiratory problems including nasal congestion, sinusitis, asthma, bronchitis and the common cough & cold. It is often an ingredient in natural chest rubs to help with congestion.

  • Massage 2-3 drops (along with a carrier oil) onto chest or drop into a humidifier to help clear sinus and lung congestion.
  • If you’re head is feeling stuffed or you can’t stop coughing, try a peppermint essential oil steam. Pour boiling water into a metal or glass bowl, and add a few drops of essential oil (On Guard blend, eucalyptus and rosemary are good combinations with peppermint). Drape a towel over your head and position your face 10-12 inches above the bowl and breathe in the steam.

7.) Indigestion: One of the oldest and most highly regarded herbs for soothing digestion is peppermint. Peppermint oil is very helpful in digestion asithas a carminative property of expelling gas (from the stomach or intestines so as to relieve flatulence or abdominal pain or distension).

  • Massage several drops on your abdomen, place a drop on wrists, or inhale to soothe motion sickness or general nausea.
  • Drinking mint tea has long been the antidote to an upset stomach.
  • Inhaling peppermint oil is also said to help curb the appetite by triggering a sense of fullness.

Those are my top 7 uses for peppermint essential oil. 🙂 There are many, many more. I encourage you to do some research on these amazing essentials.

What do you use your essential oils for?

I would love to hear from you! 🙂

Much love & light,

Angela

 IAHC-badge HHCAmbassador

Leave a Reply

